Mango Smoothie Bowl

I know I’ve been slacking with my posts recently but here’s a quick recipe for a smoothie bowl (I’ll be posting something about uni and what’s happening this academic year in a week or so for those who are interested). Having recently discovered smoothie bowls on Pinterest and Instagram I thought I would try and make one myself using frozen banana and mango, topped with granola (I always use my granola recipe as it is so simple and works well with any flavour) and fresh fruit. This tasted so good, just like a sorbet and was really filling for breakfast.  I always use ½ a banana in my smoothies as it is the perfect amount to bring the smoothie together making it thicker but not making it taste solely of banana. Feel free to experiment with this recipe, adding more or less banana, mango and juice to create a slightly different smoothie bowl.

Ingredients for smoothie bowl

½ frozen banana (chop it before you freeze it)

large handful of frozen mango chunks

small splash of orange juice (juice of two oranges)

handful of granola and fresh fruit to top

Method

  1. Put the chopped frozen banana and juice in the blender and bland until smooth.
  2. Then add the mango chunks and continue blending until the mango has broken down  and formed a thick, but not lumpy, consistency.
  3. Pour the smoothie into a bowl and add your favourite healthy toppings.

I added a handful of spinach when I made the bowl again and it actually tasted really nice and fresh and was such a beautiful green colour, here’s a picture of it and how I topped it.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

3 thoughts on “Mango Smoothie Bowl

Leave a Reply

